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Appendix F:
Income Eligibility Guidelines for Illinois Solar For All

The Act states that for the Illinois Solar for All Program, “low-income households’ means persons and
families whose income does not exceed 80% of area median income, adjusted for family size and revised
every 5 years.”?

The Agency proposes to use income eligibility guidelines from the US Department of Housing and Urban
Development (HUD). HUD bases its housing assistance programs, such as the Section 8 Housing Choice
Voucher program on 80% of area median income.2

Because the Act does not define “area,” the Agency is proposing to use HUD’s definition of an area as a
Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), a Fair Market Rate (FMR) Area, or a county notin an MSA or FMR. There
are 20 MSAs and FMRs, and 62 other counties in Illinois.

Incomeeligibility levels are shownin Table F-1, for each geographic area. Table F-1 also shows incomelevels
for participation in the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program (“LIHEAP”) and the Illinois Home
Weatherization Assistance Program (“IHWAP”). These programs are managed by the Illinois Department of
Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO).

For LIHEAP and IHWAP, annual eligibility levels are determined based on available funding and may not
exceed 200% of the federal nonfarm poverty level. Levels are set by household size, and are measured by
monthly or annual income, with additional provisions for renters. The table lists 2023-2024 program year
values for annual income, as set by DCEO.3

Eligibility in LIHEAP or State funded IHWAP could be a proxy for eligibility for Illinois Solar for All because
there is much, though not complete overlap of eligibility with the 80% of area median income forall regions
of the state. However, for both LIHEAP and IHWAP, not all counties, MSAs, or FMRs have an area median
income of 80% that is below the eligibility level for those programs. For the counties and areas listed below
that are shaded, participation in those programs could not be used as a proxy for eligibility in Illinois Solar
for All. The Program Administrator still allows participants to verify their income using LIHEAP and [HWAP
eligibility, however additional confirmation is sought from DCEO when 200% FPL is higher than the 80%
AMI of the participant’s area.

120 ILCS 3855/1-56(b).
2HUD, FY 2022 Income Limits Documentation System at https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il.html.

3 Offlce of Commumty Assistance, Illm01s Department of Commerce

ly.html, Accessed August 15, 2023.
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Table F-1: Maximum Income for Households to Be Eligible for Illinois Solar For All

Number of people in household

4
$60,000

)
$70,280

LIHEAP /IHWAP (200% of FPL): &YX I}

$39,440 | $49,720 $80,560 | $90,840 | $93,298

Adams County, IL $44,450 | $50,800 | $57,150 | $63,500 | $68,600 | $73,700 | $78,750 | $83,850

Bloomington, IL HUD Metro

e e s $58,350 | $66,700 | $75,050 | $83,350 | $90,050 | $96,700 | $103.400 | $110,050

Elel'l“dA?““ty' LLlEIENAEED $47,250 | $54,000 | $60,750 | $67,450 | $72,850 | $78,250 | $83,650 | $89,050
ea

Brown County, IL $49,800 | $56,900 | $64,000 | $71,100 | $76,800 | $82,500 | $88,200 | $93,900

Bureau County, IL $44,000 | $50,250 | $56,550 | $62,800 | $67,850 | $72,850 | $77,900 | $82,900

Cape Girardeau, MO-IL MSA

(Aloxander cotnty) $39,900 | $45,600 | $51,300 | $56,950 | $61,550 | $66,100 | $70,650 | $75,200

Carroll County, IL $42,650 | $48,750 | $54,850 | $60,900 | $65,800 | $70,650 | $75,550 | $80,400

Cass County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,400

Champaign-Urbana, IL MSA

(Champaign, Ford, Piatt $51,150 | $58,450 | $65,750 | $73,050 | $78,900 | $84,750 | $90,600 | $96,450

counties)

Chicago-Joliet- Naperville, IL
HUD Metro FMR Area (Cook,
DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry,
Will counties)

$58,350 | $66,700 | $75,050 [ $83,350 | $90,050 | $96,700 $103,400 $110,050

Christian County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Clark County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Clay County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Coles County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Crawford County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Cumberland County, IL $44,000 | $50,250 | $56,550 | $62,800 | $67,850 | $72,850 | $77,900 [ $82,900
Danville, IL MSA (Vermillion

County) $42,500 | $48,600 [ $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150

Davenport-Moline- Rock
Island, IA-IL MSA (Henry, $47,800 | $54,600 | $61,450 | $68,250 | $73,750 | $79,200 | $84,650 | $90,100
Mercer, Rock Island counties)

De Witt County, IL HUD Metro

$43,200 | $49,400 [ $55,550 | $61,700 | $66,650 | $71,600 | $76,550 [ $81,450

FMR Area

CD;ffltt‘;,;' ILMSA (Macon $43,050 | $49,200 | $55,350 | $61,450 | $66,400 | $71,300 | $76,200 | $81,150
F"ﬁ'ﬂ;’e?““t’" ILHUD Metro | ¢54 950 | $62,000 | $69,750 | $77,450 | $83,650 | $89,850 | $96,050 | $102:250
Douglas County, IL $42,650 | $48,750 | $54,850 | $60,900 | $65,800 | $70,650 | $75,550 | $81,450
Edgar County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Edwards County, IL $42,700 | $48,800 | $54,900 | $61,000 | $65,900 | $70,800 | $75,650 | $80,550
Effingham County, IL $45,600 | $52,100 | $58,600 | $65,100 | $70,350 | $75,550 | $80,750 | $85,950
Fayette County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Franklin County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Fulton County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
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Gallatin County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Greene County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Grundy County, ILHUDMetro | 454 709 | $62,500 | $70,300 | $78,100 | $84,350 | $90,600 | $96,850 | $103,100
Hamilton County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Hancock County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Hardin County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Henderson County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Iroquois County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Lﬁgﬁg"“"w’ ILHUDMetro | ¢,5 500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Jasper County, IL $42,650 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Jefferson County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Jo Daviess County, IL $46,700 | $53,350 | $60,000 | $66,650 | $72,000 | $77,350 | $82,650 | $88,000
Johnson County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Kankakee, IL MSA $46,700 | $53,350 | $60,000 | $66,650 | $72,000 | $77,350 | $82,650 | $88,000
gﬁ'ﬁ‘ﬁlgounty‘ ILHUD Metro | ¢c» c00 | $71,550 | $80,500 | $89,400 | $96,600 | $103750 | $110,900 | $118,050
Knox County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
La Salle County, IL $43,400 | $49,600 | $55,800 | $62,000 | $67,000 | $71,950 | $76,900 | $81,850
Lawrence County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Lee County, IL $47,150 | $53,850 | $60,600 | $67,300 | $72,700 | $78,100 | $83,500 | $88,850
Livingston County, IL $44,250 | $50,600 | $56,900 | $63,200 | $68,300 | $73,350 | $78,400 | $83,450
Logan County, IL $46,400 | $53,000 | $59,650 | $66,250 | $71,550 | $76,850 | $82,150 | $84,450
e $42,650 | $48,750 | $54,850 | $60,900 | $65,800 | $70,650 | $75,550 | $80,400
Marion County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Mason County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Massac County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
McDonough County, IL $43,900 | $50,150 | $56,400 | $62,650 | $67,700 | $72,700 | $77,700 | $82,700
Montgomery County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 [ $75,300 | $80,150
Morgan County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Moultrie County, IL $44,450 | $50,800 | $57,150 | $63,500 | $68,600 | $73,700 | $78,750 | $83,850
Ogle County, IL $46,700 | $53,350 | $60,000 | $66,650 | $72,000 | $77,350 | $82,650 | $88,000
Peoria, IL MSA (Marshall,

Peoria, Stark, Tazewell, $47,800 | $54,600 | $61,450 | $68,250 | $73,750 | $79,200 | $84,650 | $90,100
Woodford counties)

Perry County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Pike County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Pope County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Pulaski County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Putnam County, IL $48,250 | $55,150 | $62,050 | $68,900 | $74,450 | $79,950 | $85,450 | $90,950
Randolph County, IL $43,050 | $49,200 | $55,350 | $61,500 | $66,450 | $71,350 | $76,300 | $81,200
Richland County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
‘]};i;';fggﬂ’gg“c“:ﬁﬁt(if;"“e' $45,100 | $51,550 | $58,000 | $64,400 | $69,600 | $74,750 | $79,900 | $85,050
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Saline County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Schuyler County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Scott County, IL $43,600 | $49,800 | $56,050 [ $62,250 | $67,250 | $72,250 | $77,200 | $82,200
Shelby County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 [ $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 [ $80,150
Springfield, IL MSA (Menard,

Sangamon counties) $53,450 $61,050 | $68,700 $76,300 $82,450 $88,550 $94,650 $100,750
St. Louis, MO-IL HUD Metro
FMR Area (Calhoun, Clinton,
Jersey, Madison, Monroe, St.
Clair counties)

$53,150 | $60,750 | $68,350 [ $75,900 | $82,000 | $88,050 | $94,150 $100,200

Stephenson County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Union County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Wabash County, IL $44,100 | $50,400 | $56,700 | $62,950 | $68,000 | $73,050 | $78,100 | $83,100
Warren County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Washington County, IL $48,850 | $55,800 | $62,800 | $69,750 | $75,350 | $80,950 | $86,500 | $92,100
Wayne County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
White County, IL $42,500 | $48,600 | $54,650 | $60,700 | $65,600 | $70,450 | $75,300 | $80,150
Whiteside County, IL $42,650 | $48,750 | $54,850 | $60,900 | $65,800 | $70,650 | $75,550 | $80,400
‘],’,[V:t';?)";lfﬁ;' :r‘:;"ty’ 1L HUD $43,500 | $49,700 | $55,900 | $62,100 | $67,100 | $72,050 | $77,050 | $82,000




