## **Appendix F:**

## **Income Eligibility Guidelines for Illinois Solar For All**

The Act states that for the Illinois Solar for All Program, "low-income households' means persons and families whose income does not exceed 80% of area median income, adjusted for family size and revised every 5 years." 1

The Agency proposes to use income eligibility guidelines from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). HUD bases its housing assistance programs, such as the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher program on 80% of area median income.<sup>2</sup>

Because the Act does not define "area," the Agency is proposing to use HUD's definition of an area as a Metropolitan Statistical Area (MSA), a Fair Market Rate (FMR) Area, or a county not in an MSA or FMR. There are 20 MSAs and FMRs, and 62 other counties in Illinois.

Income eligibility levels are shown in Table D-1, for every geographic area, sorted by income from low to high. Table D-1 also shows income levels for participation in the Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program ("LIHEAP") and the Illinois Home Weatherization Assistance Program ("IHWAP"). These programs are managed by the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity (DCEO).

For LIHEAP, annual eligibility levels are determined based on available funding and may not exceed 150% of the federal nonfarm poverty level. Levels are set by household size, and are measured by monthly or annual income, with additional provisions for renters. The table lists 2017 values for annual income, as set by DCEO.<sup>3</sup>

To be eligible to receive assistance from IHWAP, the household's combined income must be at or below 150% of the federal poverty level using State funding, and 200% of the federal poverty level using Federal funding. The table lists 2018 values.<sup>4</sup>

Eligibility in LIHEAP or State funded IHWAP could be a proxy for eligibility for Illinois Solar for All because the 150% of poverty level is lower than the 80% of area median income for all regions of the state. However, for Federally funded IHWAP, not all counties, MSAs, or FMRs have an area median income of 80% that is below the eligibility level for those programs. For the counties and areas listed below the row showing the Federally funded IHWAP level, participation in those programs could not be used as a proxy for eligibility in Illinois Solar for All.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> 20 ILCS 3855/1-56(b).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> HUD, FY 2017 Income Limits Documentation System at https://www.huduser.gov/portal/datasets/il.html.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> Office of Community Assistance, Illinois Department of Commerce,

 $<sup>\</sup>underline{\text{https://www.illinois.gov/dceo/CommunityServices/UtilityBillAssistance/Pages/default.aspx}. Accessed September 22, 2017.$ 

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> Office of Community Assistance, Illinois Department of Commerce,

 $<sup>\</sup>frac{https://www.illinois.gov/dceo/CommunityServices/HomeWeatherization/Pages/default.aspx.}{2017.} Accessed September 22, 2017.$ 

Table F-1: Maximum Income for Households to Be Eligible for Illinois Solar For All

	Number of people in household							
	1	2	3	4	5	6	7	8
LIHEAP and IHWAP State Funds (150% of FPL)	\$18,090	\$24,360	\$30,630	\$36,900	\$43,170	\$49,440	\$55,710	\$61,980
Cape Girardeau, MO-IL MSA (Alexander county)	\$33,000	\$37,700	\$42,400	\$47,100	\$50,900	\$54,650	\$58,450	\$62,200
Pulaski County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Franklin County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Hardin County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Lawrence County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Saline County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Pike County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Union County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Gallatin County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Johnson County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Edgar County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Knox County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Massac County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Jackson County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Pope County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Danville, IL MSA (Vermillion county)	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Edwards County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Greene County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Fayette County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Coles County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Clay County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Wayne County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Warren County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Marion County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Hancock County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Perry County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Montgomery County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Jefferson County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Stephenson County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Clark County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Moultrie County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Cass County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Christian County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Fulton County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Richland County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Mason County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800

Shelby County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Hamilton County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Cumberland County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Iroquois County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Schuyler County, IL	\$33,850	\$38,650	\$43,500	\$48,300	\$52,200	\$56,050	\$59,900	\$63,800
Henderson County, IL	\$33,950	\$38,800	\$43,650	\$48,500	\$52,400	\$56,300	\$60,150	\$64,050
McDonough County, IL	\$34,000	\$38,850	\$43,700	\$48,550	\$52,450	\$56,350	\$60,250	\$64,100
Rockford, IL MSA (Boone, Winnebago counties)	\$34,000	\$38,850	\$43,700	\$48,550	\$52,450	\$56,350	\$60,250	\$64,100
White County, IL	\$34,350	\$39,250	\$44,150	\$49,050	\$53,000	\$56,900	\$60,850	\$64,750
Carroll County, IL	\$34,400	\$39,300	\$44,200	\$49,100	\$53,050	\$57,000	\$60,900	\$64,850
Whiteside County, IL	\$34,450	\$39,400	\$44,300	\$49,200	\$53,150	\$57,100	\$61,050	\$64,950
IHWAP DOE & HHS Funds (200% of FPL)	\$24,120	\$32,480	\$40,840	\$49,200	\$57,560	\$65,920	\$74,280	\$82,640
Adams County, IL	\$34,650	\$39,600	\$44,550	\$49,450	\$53,450	\$57,400	\$61,350	\$65,300
Williamson County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$34,750	\$39,700	\$44,650	\$49,600	\$53,600	\$57,550	\$61,550	\$65,500
Wabash County, IL	\$35,000	\$40,000	\$45,000	\$50,000	\$54,000	\$58,000	\$62,000	\$66,000
Decatur, IL MSA (Macon county)	\$35,150	\$40,150	\$45,150	\$50,150	\$54,200	\$58,200	\$62,200	\$66,200
Macoupin County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$35,300	\$40,350	\$45,400	\$50,400	\$54,450	\$58,500	\$62,500	\$66,550
Randolph County, IL	\$35,600	\$40,650	\$45,750	\$50,800	\$54,900	\$58,950	\$63,000	\$67,100
Scott County, IL	\$35,650	\$40,750	\$45,850	\$50,900	\$55,000	\$59,050	\$63,150	\$67,200
Jasper County, IL	\$35,750	\$40,850	\$45,950	\$51,050	\$55,150	\$59,250	\$63,350	\$67,400
Bureau County, IL	\$35,850	\$41,000	\$46,100	\$51,200	\$55,300	\$59,400	\$63,500	\$67,600
Crawford County, IL	\$35,950	\$41,100	\$46,250	\$51,350	\$55,500	\$59,600	\$63,700	\$67,800
Bond County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$36,050	\$41,200	\$46,350	\$51,500	\$55,650	\$59,750	\$63,900	\$68,000
Kankakee, IL MSA	\$36,250	\$41,400	\$46,600	\$51,750	\$55,900	\$60,050	\$64,200	\$68,350
La Salle County, IL	\$36,700	\$41,950	\$47,200	\$52,400	\$56,600	\$60,800	\$65,000	\$69,200
Logan County, IL	\$36,800	\$42,050	\$47,300	\$52,550	\$56,800	\$61,000	\$65,200	\$69,400
Lee County, IL	\$36,900	\$42,150	\$47,400	\$52,650	\$56,900	\$61,100	\$65,300	\$69,500
Morgan County, IL	\$37,100	\$42,400	\$47,700	\$52,950	\$57,200	\$61,450	\$65,700	\$69,900
Effingham County, IL	\$37,150	\$42,450	\$47,750	\$53,050	\$57,300	\$61,550	\$65,800	\$70,050
Douglas County, IL	\$37,550	\$42,900	\$48,250	\$53,600	\$57,900	\$62,200	\$66,500	\$70,800
Davenport-Moline-Rock Island, IA-IL MSA (Henry, Mercer, Rock Island counties)	\$37,600	\$43,000	\$48,350	\$53,700	\$58,000	\$62,300	\$66,600	\$70,900
Jo Daviess County, IL	\$37,900	\$43,300	\$48,700	\$54,100	\$58,450	\$62,800	\$67,100	\$71,450
Livingston County, IL	\$38,200	\$43,650	\$49,100	\$54,550	\$58,950	\$63,300	\$67,650	\$72,050
Washington County, IL	\$38,600	\$44,100	\$49,600	\$55,100	\$59,550	\$63,950	\$68,350	\$72,750
Brown County, IL	\$38,750	\$44,300	\$49,850	\$55,350	\$59,800	\$64,250	\$68,650	\$73,100
Champaign-Urbana, IL MSA (Champaign, Ford, Piatt counties)	\$38,950	\$44,500	\$50,050	\$55,600	\$60,050	\$64,500	\$68,950	\$73,400
De Witt County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$39,500	\$45,150	\$50,800	\$56,400	\$60,950	\$65,450	\$69,950	\$74,450
Putnam County, IL	\$39,850	\$45,550	\$51,250	\$56,900	\$61,500	\$66,050	\$70,600	\$75,150

Ogle County, IL	\$40,150	\$45,850	\$51,600	\$57,300	\$61,900	\$66,500	\$71,100	\$75,650
Peoria, IL MSA (Marshall, Peoria, Stark, Tazewell, Woodford counties)	\$40,600	\$46,400	\$52,200	\$58,000	\$62,650	\$67,300	\$71,950	\$76,600
DeKalb County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$40,850	\$46,650	\$52,500	\$58,300	\$63,000	\$67,650	\$72,300	\$77,000
St. Louis, MO-IL HUD Metro FMR Area (Calhoun, Clinton, Jersey, Madison, Monroe, St. Clair counties)	\$41,750	\$47,700	\$53,650	\$59,600	\$64,400	\$69,150	\$73,950	\$78,700
Springfield, IL MSA (Menard, Sangamon counties)	\$42,300	\$48,350	\$54,400	\$60,400	\$65,250	\$70,100	\$74,900	\$79,750
Chicago-Joliet-Naperville, IL HUD Metro FMR Area (Cook, DuPage, Kane, Lake, McHenry, Will counties)	\$44,250	\$50,600	\$56,900	\$63,200	\$68,300	\$73,350	\$78,400	\$83,450
Grundy County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$45,950	\$52,500	\$59,050	\$65,600	\$70,850	\$76,100	\$81,350	\$86,600
Bloomington, IL HUD Metro FMR Area (McLean county)	\$46,700	\$53,400	\$60,050	\$66,700	\$72,050	\$77,400	\$82,750	\$88,050
Kendall County, IL HUD Metro FMR Area	\$47,600	\$54,400	\$61,200	\$68,000	\$73,450	\$78,900	\$84,350	\$89,800